The 5 Love Languages, Gary Chapman – Book Review

Title: The 5 Love Languages
Author: Gary Chapman
Publisher: Northfield Publishing
Release Date: January 1, 2015
Pages: 208
Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The Slight Edge Amazon Link


The 5 Love Languages Book Cover

The 5 Love Languages Review

Considering the holidays are just around the corner, I thought this would be the perfect month for this book.

The thing to note is that the content is not limited to your significant other, it can be used to improve any relationship; And not only have I been able to improve my relationship with others tremendously, but I have also been able to improve my relationship with myself.

This book should not only be used to rescue relationships, it can and should be used to improve said relationships, preventing problems in the first place. It is a must read and the author uses many examples which makes it much easier to grasp the content.

The 5 Love Languages Summary

Most of us enter marriage by way of the in-love experience, someone who’s physical characteristics and fake personality traits lures us in. True love cannot begin until the in-love experience has run its course, which typically lasts for 2 years.

According to the author, there are only 5 love languages, however, there may be numerous dialects. The number of ways to express love within a love language is limited only by one’s imagination. The important thing is to speak the love language of your spouse.

You may not be comfortable with your spouse’s primary love language, using physical touch as an example, if you were to hug your spouse 3000 times it will begin to feel more comfortable. But ultimately comfort is not the issue.

We are talking about love, and love is something you do for someone else, not something you do for yourself.

The 5 Languages:

  1. Love Language #1: Words of Affirmation – Sometimes our words say one thing, but our tone of voice says another. “The tongue has the power of life and death” -Solomon
  2. Love Language #2: Quality Time – Quality time is giving the person your undivided attention. The important thing emotionally is that you are spending focused time with each other. The activity is a vehicle that creates a sense of togetherness.
  3. Love Language #3: Receiving Gifts – To the person who’s primary love language is gift giving, the cost of the gift will matter little, unless it is greatly out of line with what you can afford. A gift is something you hold in your hand and say “Look, they were thinking of me”. The gift is a symbol of that thought.
  4. Love Language #4: Acts of Service – Acts of service is doing things you know your spouse would like you to do. Requests give direction to love, but demands stop the flow of love.
  5. Love Language #5: Physical Touch – Your spouse may find some touches irritating or uncomfortable, learn to speak their dialect. The brain interprets each touch as warm or cold, hard or soft, pain or pleasure, loving or hostile

Let us know what you thought in the comment section below!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *